Sorry to be such a Japanophile but Pink Tentacle scores again. The Japanese Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries recently commissioned an educational video to discuss the current and future issues the Japanese will have to tackle in regards to their dietary needs.

While I don’t agree with all of the conclusions the video reaches (glossing over degrading fish reserves and the ecological impact of the seafood industry is a crime against the world) I do think that if there had been more videos like this when I was growing up I might have learned a thing or two when I was in school. Japan’s situation is very unique in regards to its food production (they produce less than half of what they consume) but there are enough universal issues highlighted in the video to cause everyone pause. Any discussion about how we interact with our surroundings is worthwhile.